Jump to Navigation

Defense Against Misdemeanor and Felony Charges

Effective Misdemeanor Defense

An effective misdemeanor defense begins with the knowledgeable advice of an experienced attorney. Discuss all your legal options with your lawyer so that you can make the best decision possible.

Classifications of Misdemeanor Crimes

In Oregon, there are four classifications of Misdemeanor Crimes:

  • Class A Misdemeanors
    Punishable by up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $6250
    Examples include DUII, Assault IV, & Theft II
  • Class B Misdemeanors
    Punishable by up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $2500
    Examples include Harassment & Telephonic Harassment
  • Class C Misdemeanors
    Punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a maximum fine of $1250
    Examples include Criminal Trespass II, Theft III & Misrepresentation of Age by a Minor

Students at the University of Oregon in Eugene often find themselves facing misdemeanor charges. If you or a loved one in college is facing a criminal charge, call The Law Office of Laura Fine Moro, P.C., at 888-309-4560 for a free consultation. You can also contact me via email.

Charged with a Felony? Know Your Options.

The Oregon Felony Sentencing Guidelines contain a list of the presumptive sentences to be imposed on felony convictions. These presumptive sentences can be increased or decreased, depending on aggravating or mitigating factors. In order to aggressively advocate for you in the event your case is at the sentencing juncture, your lawyer will want to explore not only the facts associated with the alleged crime, but additional facts about your personal history, the circumstances leading up to the criminal charge, and any available information about alleged victims.

Certain felonies fall outside the Sentencing Guidelines because the voters of Oregon have enacted mandatory minimum sentences. This includes Measure 11 crimes (such as Murder, Rape, Sodomy, Robbery, Sexual Penetration, and Child Pornography), as well as repeat property offenses. Mandatory sentences mean that the judge has no discretion to impose a lesser sentence; if you are convicted of one of these crimes, you have to serve the full sentence set by the law. For charges with mandatory minimum sentences, the stakes are very high and you should work closely with your lawyer to determine whether a lesser included offense is an alternative to conviction on the stated charge.

If you face felony charges, contact me toll-free at 888-309-4560. I have successfully defended hundreds of people charged with felonies and misdemeanors in my more than 20 years as a practicing lawyer.

Contact The Law Office of Laura Fine Moro, P.C.

For a free initial consultation on the felony or misdemeanor charges you face, call The Law Office of Laura Fine Moro in Eugene at 888-309-4560. You can also contact me by e-mail.